Temple Normanton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Temple Normanton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Temple Normanton, Derbyshire|
Temple Normaton St James Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Parish registers: 1863|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1863|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
NORMANTON-TEMPLE, a township-chapelry in Chesterfield parish, Derby; near the Midland railway, 2¾ miles S E of Chesterfield r. station. Post-town, Chesterfield.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Temple Normanton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Temple Normanton St James (1863) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2145 has deposited registers Bap 1863-1978 Mar 1868-1852 Burials 1863-1973 Banns 1898-1970
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1863-1868 Mar none Burials 1863-1868
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Temple Normanton on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.