Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Terrell County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Terrell County

Guide to Terrell County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}



Terrell County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Terrell County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 16, 1856
County Seat Dawson
Courthouse
Address Terrell County Courthouse
235 E Lee Street
Dawson, GA 31742-2100
Phone: 229.995.4108
Terrell County Website


County Information

Terrell County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1856

1860
1856
1856

County Courthouse

Terrell County Courthouse
235 E Lee Street
Dawson, GA 31742-2100
Phone: 229.995.4108

County Health Department has birth and death records; probate court has marriage and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1919 and land records from 1826[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
235 East Lee Street
Dawson, GA 39842
Telephone: (229) 995-2631
Fax: (229) 995-6453

Probate Court of Terrell County
P.O. Box 67
499 Rountree Drive, SW
Dawson, GA 39842 Telephone: 229-995-5515
Fax: 229-995-5574

History

Parent County

1856--Terrell County was created 16 February 1856  from Lee and Randolph Counties. County seat: Dawson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun County  • Dougherty County  • Lee County  • Randolph County  • Sumter County  • Webster County

Terrell CountyLee CountyDougherty CountyCalhoun CountyWorth CountyClay CountyQuitman CountyRandolph CountyStewart CountyChattahoochee CountyMarion CountyWebster CountySumter CountySchley CountyDooly CountyCrisp CountyMitchell CountyBaker CountyEarly CountyRussell CountyBarbour CountyDale CountyHenry CountyGATerrell.JPG
About this image

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Companies E and H
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 31st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 35th Battalion, Georgia (Confederate), Company K
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Newspaper clippings from the March 30 and April 9, 1961 Albany Herald: of Civil War companies from Dougherty and Baker Counties, Lee County volunteers, and Terrell County war heroes. 1961. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 249516

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Terrell County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records

1699-1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1856-1885 - Terrell County Marriage Books A and B Index 1856-1885. Batch M713811 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869-1888 - Terrell County Marriage Index 1869-1888. Batch M713812 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1885-1886 - Terrell County Marriages from old Newspapers 1885-1886 at Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1885-1896 - Terrell County Marriage Book C Index 1885-1896. Batch M713813 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1888-1895 - Terrell County Marriage Index 1888-1895. Batch M713814 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Terrell County Historic Preservation Society
PO Box 63
Dawson, GA 39842-0063
Edgar Duskin
Phone: 912-995-2124
Website

Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Terrell County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.