Teversal, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Teversal, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Teversal St Katherine Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Manor of Skegby and Teversal|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
TEVERSAL (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, N. division of the hundred of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 4½ miles (W. by N.) from Mansfield.The village is situated on a lofty eminence; and there are three hamlets, Fackley, Stanley, and Whiteborrow.
Teversal St Katherine or Catherine is an Ancient Parish; the Norman church has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building
For further information see St Katherine Teversal Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Certificates may be obtained from:
The Register Office
100 Chesterfield Road South
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
Teversal St Katherine parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TEVERSAL PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1571-1952 Marriages 1572-1957 Burials 1572-1974 Bishop’s Transcripts 1600-1858
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Teversal
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..