Thailand Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thailand)
Jump to: navigation, search
Thailand Wiki Topics
Flag of Thailand.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Thailand Background
Ethnicities
Local Research Resources
Asia
Thailand

Guide to Thailand ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Thailand is a country in Asia bordered by Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, and Malaysia. It was formerly known as Siam. The official language is Thai.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Thailand Research

Links to articles on getting started with Thailand research.

Thailand Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Thailand research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Thailand Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Thailand.

Thailand provinces en.png

Provinces

Genealogy records are kept on the province level in Thailand. Click on a state below to go to the province Wiki article listing more information.

Thailand is divided into 76 provinces (changwat, singular and plural).

Map of Thailand showing the provinces numbered. Numbering is done according to alphabetic sorting of the standard English transcription of the province name, done for each of the five regions separately.

North

  1. Chiang Mai (เชียงใหม่)
  2. Chiang Rai (เชียงราย)
  3. Kamphaeng Phet (กำแพงเพชร)
  4. Lampang (ลำปาง)
  5. Lamphun (ลำพูน)
  6. Mae Hong Son (แม่ฮ่องสอน)
  7. Nakhon Sawan (นครสวรรค์)
  8. Nan (น่าน)
  9. Phayao (พะเยา)
  10. Phetchabun (เพชรบูรณ์)
  11. Phichit (พิจิตร)
  12. Phitsanulok (พิษณุโลก)
  13. Phrae (แพร่)
  14. Sukhothai (สุโขทัย)
  15. Tak (ตาก)
  16. Uthai Thani (อุทัยธานี)
  17. Uttaradit (อุตรดิตถ์)

North-East (Isaan)

  1. Amnat Charoen (อำนาจเจริญ)
  2. Buriram (บุรีรัมย์)
  3. Chaiyaphum (ชัยภูมิ)
  4. Kalasin (กาฬสินธุ์)
  5. Khon Kaen (ขอนแก่น)
  6. Loei (เลย)
  7. Maha Sarakham (มหาสารคาม)
  8. Mukdahan (มุกดาหาร)
  9. Nakhon Phanom (นครพนม)
  10. Nakhon Ratchasima (นครราชสีมา)
  11. Nongbua Lamphu (หนองบัวลำภู)
  12. Nong Khai (หนองคาย)
  13. Roi Et (ร้อยเอ็ด)
  14. Sakon Nakhon (สกลนคร)
  15. Sisaket (ศรีสะเกษ)
  16. Surin (สุรินทร์)
  17. Ubon Ratchathani (อุบลราชธานี)
  18. Udon Thani (อุดรธานี)
  19. Yasothon (ยโสธร)
  20. Bueng Kan (New province from 2011-03-23)

Central

  1. Ang Thong (อ่างทอง)
  2. Ayutthaya (พระนครศรีอยุธยา)
  3. Bangkok (กรุงเทพฯ)
  4. Chainat (ชัยนาท)
  5. Kanchanaburi (กาญจนบุรี)
  6. Lopburi (ลพบุรี)
  7. Nakhon Nayok (นครนายก)
  8. Nakhon Pathom (นครปฐม)
  9. Nonthaburi (นนทบุรี)
  10. Pathumthani (ปทุมธานี)
  11. Phetchaburi (เพชรบุรี)
  12. Prachuap Khiri Khan (ประจวบคีรีขันธ์)
  13. Ratchaburi (ราชบุรี)
  14. Samut Prakan (สมุทรปราการ)
  15. Samut Sakhon (สมุทรสาคร)
  16. Samut Songkhram (สมุทรสงคราม)
  17. Saraburi (สระบุรี)
  18. Sing Buri (สิงห์บุรี)
  19. Suphanburi (สุพรรณบุรี)

East

  1. Chachoengsao (ฉะเชิงเทรา)
  2. Chanthaburi (จันทบุรี)
  3. Chonburi (ชลบุรี)
  4. Prachinburi (ปราจีนบุรี)
  5. Rayong (ระยอง)
  6. Srakaeo (สระแก้ว)
  7. Trat (ตราด)

South

  1. Chumphon (ชุมพร)
  2. Krabi (กระบี่)
  3. Nakhon Si Thammarat (นครศรีธรรมราช)
  4. Narathiwat (นราธิวาส)
  5. Pattani (ปัตตานี)
  6. Phang Nga (พังงา)
  7. Phattalung (พัทลุง)
  8. Phuket (ภูเก็ต)
  9. Ranong (ระนอง)
  10. Satun (สตูล)
  11. Songkhla (สงขลา)
  12. Surat Thani (สุราษฎร์ธานี)
  13. Trang (ตรัง)
  14. Yala (ยะลา)

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Thailand," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thailand, accessed 20 April 2016.