Thame Oxfordshire

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Thame, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thame Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thame
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

THAME (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Thame, county of Oxford, 13 miles (E.) from Oxford, and 44½ (N. W.by W.) from London; containing the hamlets of Priestend, North Weston, and Moreton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thame Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Thame Oxfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1667-1734

OFHS 1601-1930
1601-1930
1601-1987


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 08 October 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.