Thayer County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thayer County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Thayer County

Thayer County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Thayer County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1871
County Seat Hebron
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Thayer County Courthouse
225 N. 4th Street
P.O. Box 208
Hebron, Nebraska 68370-1549
Phone: 402.768.6126


Thayer County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Thayer County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1880 1871 1871


County Courthouse

Thayer County Courthouse
225 N 4th Street PO Box 208
Hebron, NE 68370-1549
Phone: 402.768.6126

County Judge has marriage, probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1871--Thayer County was created 26 January 1871 from Jefferson County. County seat: Hebron [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [3]

  • Alexandria
  • Belvidere
  • Bruning
  • Byron
  • Carleton
  • Chester
  • Davenport
  • Deshler
  • Gilead
  • Hebron (county seat)
  • Hubbell

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
[NEGENWEBURL NEGenWeb] WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 6,113
1890 12,738 108.4%
1900 14,325 12.5%
1910 14,775 3.1%
1920 13,976 −5.4%
1930 13,684 −2.1%
1940 12,262 −10.4%
1950 10,563 −13.9%
1960 9,118 −13.7%
1970 7,779 −14.7%
1980 7,582 −2.5%
1990 6,635 −12.5%
2000 6,055 −8.7%
2010 5,228 −13.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Thayer County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Byron, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Thayer County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nethayer.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Thayer County, Nebraska Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Thayer - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Thayer County, Nebraska page 434, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Thayer County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thayer_County,_Nebraska, accessed 2 August 2016.
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).