The Netherlands Antilles Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from The Netherlands Antilles)
Jump to: navigation, search

Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Netherlands Antilles

Netherlands Antilles Wiki Topics
Flag of the Netherlands Antilles (1986-2010).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Netherlands Antilles Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Guide to The Netherlands Antilles ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Nederlandse Antillen (The Netherlands Antilles) was a former autonomous part of The Netherlands, consisting of the West Indies islands of Curaçao, Bonaire, and formerly Aruba—all off the north coast of Venezuela in the Caribbean Sea—and Saba, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten (part French)—east of the US Virgin Islands.[1][2]

Sint Maarten/Saint Martin. The northern 60% of the island of Sint Maarten is called Saint Martin and is a part of the French Antilles (of France). The southern 40% of the island of Sint Maarten was formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles, since 2010 a constituent country of the Netherlands.[3]

Getting Started

Getting Started with The Netherlands Antilles Research

Links to articles on getting started with The Netherlands Antilles research.

The Netherlands Antilles Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in The Netherlands Antilles research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

The Netherlands Antilles Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in The Netherlands Antilles. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.


BonaireCuraçaoSabaSint EustatiusSint MaartenMap of Netherlands Antilles.png
About this image


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in The Netherlands Antilles. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

See also:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Netherlands Antilles in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, accessed 21 July 2015.
  2. Dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, accessed 21 July 2015.
  3. Sint Maarten in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 21 July 2015).