The Quinton, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from The Quinton, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to The Quinton, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

The Quinton, Worcestershire
Quinton Christ Church Worcestershire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brimstree; Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

QUINTON, THE, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Hales-Owen, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Hales-Owen and E. divisions of Worcestershire, 2¼ miles (N. E.) from Hales-Owen, and 4¾ (W. by S.) from Birmingham. It is on the Kidderminster and Birmingham turnpike-road. The Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Baptists, have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474583.


Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.