Theddlethorpe St Helen with Mablethorpe St Peter, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Theddlethorpe St Helen with Mablethorpe St Peter, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Theddlethorpe St Helen with Mablethorpe St Peter, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Louth|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
THEDDLETHORPE (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Louth, Marsh division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 9¾ miles (N. by E.) from Alford. The living is a rectory, with that of Mablethorpe St. Peter united in 1745. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Theddlethorpe St Helen Par 1 and Theddlethorpe United Benefice Par 1 will identify available images.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438769.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 25 August 2013.