Thorndon, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thorndon, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Thorndon Guide to Thorndon, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thorndon, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartismere
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Hartismere
Registration District Hartismere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartismere
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

THORNDON (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hartismere, W. division of Suffolk, 3 miles (S. by W.) from Eye.[1]


Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Civil Registration

Thorndon is in Hartismere district. To search an index of Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Thorndon, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Thorndon, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1538-1753

IGI 1538-1710
NBI

1651-1900
TGEN 1538-1710
1538-1710
1538-1711
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474638.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.