Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme, Nottinghamshire|
Thorney St+Helen Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
THORNEY, a parish, with three townships, in Newark district, Notts; 2½ miles SW of Saxilby r. station, and 8 E of Tuxford. Post town, Newark. T. manor belongs to the Neviles; Broadholme manor, to T. Redgate, Esq.; Wigsley manor, to Sir G. Welby, Bart.
Thorney St Helen is an Ancient Parish which includes Wigsley and Broadholme.
The church of St Helen Thorney has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Thorney St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|THORNEY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1567-1901 Marriages 1562-1901 Burials 1563-1901Bishop’s Transcripts 1600-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme
Thorney - St. Helen's. An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age, dated from 1727. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82, pages 23-25, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..