Thornley, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Thornley, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thornley St Bartholomew Weardale Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Easington|
|Parish registers: 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
THORNLEY, a township, and chapelry in the parish of Kelloe, union of Easington, S. division of Easington ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 6½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Durham; A district church called Thornley St Bartholomew was was erected by 1844. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.
Additional information: It includes Tow Law. THORNLEY, with Wheatley, a township, in the parish of Chipping, union of Clitheroe, Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 9½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Preston, on the road to Clitheroe. The Roman Catholics have a place of worship. 
Additional information: FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Thornley St Bartholomew Kelloe Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/251 for 1844 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1844-2003 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Tho).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Thornley (See Kelloe) on GENUKI