Thoroton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Thoroton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Thoroton St Helen Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1583; For more records see Orston|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
THOROTON (St. Elena), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (S. S. W.) from Newark.
The living is annexed, with that of Scarrington, to the vicarage of Orston.
The history of the church has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Thoroton St Helena
The Parish Church of St Helena has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Thoroton Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thoroton St Helena parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|THOROTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1583-1903 Marriages 1507-1899 Burials 1587-1983 Bishop’s Transcripts 1612-1854
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thoroton
Thoroton - St. Helena. A alphabetical listing of transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions of the St. Helena Church Yard, dated from 1724, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age. Also a Marble plaque for those killed in action. Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 93, pages 50-51. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.