Thorpe, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Thorpe, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thorpe St Leonard Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Thorpe is an ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Hanson Grange..
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thorpe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|thorpe St Leonard (1538) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1538-1912
Derbyshire Record Office reference D650 has deposited registers Bap 1598-1992 Mar 1538-1989 Burials 1538-1992 Banns 1767-1782, 1788-1810, 1825-1989
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1886 Mar 1663-1834 Burials 1663-1886 Missing Bap/Bur 1836, 1838-1839, 1841-1846, 1849-1859
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Thorpe on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 341-342. Date accessed: 25 June 2013.