Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1592|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Thorpe Salvin St Peter is an Ecclesiastical parish in the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham in South Yorkshire which includes Netherthorpe and was formed in 1775 as a chapelry of Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire Ancient parish. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire
The Parish Church of St Peter in Harthill Road has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
THORPE-SALVIN (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 5 miles(W. by N.) from Worksop.
See also Thorpe Salvin Wikipedia
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Online data content from parish registers of Thorpe Salvin exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|THORPE SALVIN PARISH (1592) Online Records|
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1592.
Link to FamilySearch Catalogue for fims in their collection Thorpe Salvin
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.
Poor Law Unions
Genealogy and History Websites
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 343-346. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.