Thorpe le Soken, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thorpe le Soken, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Thorpe le Soken, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thorpe le Soken, Essex
St Michael Thorpe-Le-Soken Essex.jpg
St Michael Thorpe-Le-Soken Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Liberty of the Sokens; Post-1844 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Thorpe-Le-Soken, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands near the Tendring Hundred railway, it is 12 miles ESE of Colchester; and has a post-office under Colchester. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thorpe le Soken, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Thorpe le Soken, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1683-1899
1683-1918
1682-1887
FREG 1682-1898
1682-1918
1682-1887
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • French Church,
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thorpe le Soken on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.