Thurmaston, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thurmaston, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Thurmaston, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thurmaston, Leicestershire
St Michael Thurmaston Leicestershire.jpg
St Michael Thurmaston, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

Thurmaston St Michael is an Ecclesiastical Parish which was formed in 1794 from a chapelry in  Belgrave, Leicestershire Ancient Parish combined with South Thurmaston chapelry.

THURMASTON, SOUTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Belgrave, union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Leicester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Thurmaston like this:

THURMASTON, a parochial chapelry, with a village, in Barrow-upon-Soar district, Leicestershire; on the river Soar, 1¼ mile SSW of Syston r. station, and 3½ NNE of Leicester. There are two Methodist chapels.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thurmaston, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Thurmaston, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1719-1870


Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Thurmaston Bap 1719 - 1957 Marr 1719 - 1974 (Banns to 1985) Bur 1719 - 1948

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Genealogy

Knight, Gordon: The Beail Family. History and family tree of Benjamin Beail and Harriet surname unknown, dating from 1831-1956, family is listed in the following places. Essex, Colchester, Leicestershire, Thurmaston, Sfk, Felixstowe, Milfield, Walton, and Wickham Market. In the family tree other names listed are Larkin, Smith, Davis, Durrant, Keeble and Brett. Article in Roots and Branches, Journal of the Felixstowe Family History Soc. vol. 7, no.3. pages 12-15, FHL 942.64/F5 D25r

Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 351-355. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.