Tideswell, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tideswell, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Tideswell

Guide to Tideswell, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tideswell, Derbyshire
Tideswell St John the Baptist Derbyshire.jpg
Tideswell St John the Baptist Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eyam
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Tideswell, St John the Baptist, is an Ancient Parish. It is a market town in the county of Derbyshire. It is a sub-district, in Bakewell district. The parish contains also Litton and Litton with Wardlow Mires, Wheston and Whetston hamlets, and Wormhill township. The sub-district contains 10 townships, 2 lordships, 8 hamlets, and a chapelry (the p. curacy of Wormhill is a separate benefice). Tideswell is also partly in Chapel-en-le-Frith district. There are three dissenting chapels and a Roman Catholic chapel and a Methodist chapel is in Litton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tideswell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Tideswell St John the Baptist (1635) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1636-1850 None None None
FS PR's
1862-1907
NONE
1837-1912
NONE
1813-1896
NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1494 has deposited registers Bap 1635-1970 Mar 1635-1989 Burials 1635-1948 Banns 1754, 1766,1776,1869-1988

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1671-1871Mar 1671-1837 Burials 1671-1871 Missing1834-1836 all events; Bap/Bur 1839-1854

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tideswell on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870.Date accessed: 25 June 2103.