Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Wisbech|
|Parish registers: 1618; For more records see Tilney All Saints|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
TILNEY (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Wisbech, hundred of Freebridge-Marshland, W. division of Norfolk, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Lynn. There are places of worship for Calvinists and Primitive Methodists. 
Tilney St Lawrence is a former chapelry to Tilney All Saints, Norfolk Ancient parish and now an ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms and burials 1600-1608, 1623-1636, 1671-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1636, 1679-1812||FHL BRITISH Film 1526744 Item 6|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438858.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Tilney St Lawrence on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.