Timsbury, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Timsbury, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Timsbury


Guide to Timsbury, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Timsbury, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chew
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

TIMSBURY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chew, E. division of Somerset, 8 miles (S. W.) from Bath.Here are places of worship for Wesleyans, Independents, and Baptists. The parish is situated about 1¼ mile from the road between Bath and Wells.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Timsbury, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TIMSBURY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1561-1812 1561-1812 1561-1753 1561-1753 1561-1812 1561-1812
FREG 1562-1666, 1672-1908
1561-1913 (gaps)
1561-1662, 1676-1904
JOIN
1781-1837

MARR
1561-1678

NBI

1606-1846
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Timsbury/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  7. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  8. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. 11.0 11.1 E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.