Tingstäde parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tingstäde parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngGotland County Gotoarrow.pngTingstäde parish


Guide to Tingstäde parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Tingstäde
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Gotland
Landskap Gotland
Härad Norra
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names 

Annexen, Austers (Austris),

Bryor,

Furbjers (Furbjärs),

Gartarfve (Gartarve),

Kahls (Karls),

Lunds, Myrveller (Myrvälder),

Nystuge (Nystugu),

Rosarfve (Rosarve),

Smiss,

Trädgårds (Trägårds), Träskveller (Träskvälder),

Westers (Västris)


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gotland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gotland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.

See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.

References  

Tingstäde Parish, 1837- 1847 AI;4, Husförhörslängd. Gårdsregister.