Tjøtta, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tjøtta, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngTjøtta

Guide to Tjøtta, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Tjøtta clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Tjøtta with Skålvær chapel and Vevelstad. They were separated from Alstahaug clerical district in 1862. For years 1776 to 1862 see Alstahaug clerical district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1714-1928.

As well as an extraction of church records 1714-1897 and an extraction of church rcords in book form.  

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Tjøtta: 1841-1869, 1891-1895

Tjøtta / Skålvær: 1893-1928

Tjøtta / Tjøtta: 1862-1920

Tjøtta / Vevelstad: 1867-1917

Alstahaug / Tjøtta: 1714-1737, 1768-1800, 1829-1840

Alstahaug: 1737-1787, 1801-1886

Alstahaug / Alstahaug: 1714-1804, 1820-1945

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1701, 1801 see Alstahaug clerical district.
  • Sjeleregister, 1795-1797. The 1795-1797 census for Nidaros includes the parishes of Tjøtta, Nesna, Elsfjord, Korgen all in Nordland county; and Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Klinga, Otterøy, Flatanger, Kvam, Følling and Verdal all in Nord-Trøndelag county. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

89 Aakerøen, 65 Aakvik, 72 Aasen, 57 Aspvik, 59 Aunet, 83 Brastad, 93 Bukkøen, 67 Bærøen, 78 Bøen, 56 Dyrdalen nordre, 55 Dyrdalen søndre, 71 Flatøen, 102 Flovær, 48 Forsmoen, 49 Furmoen, 85 Gaarden, 85 Gammelgaarden, 41 Giskaaen, 45 Grytaaen, 50 Halsan, 76 Halsen, 51 Halsvik, 68 Haltøen, 74 Haugen, 74 Hesgaarden, 46 Hestdalen, 47 Hesteraas, 90 Hestøen, 52 Husvik, 53 Juvik, 64 Jystad, 99 Kilvær, 54 Kjerringvik, 85 Klipen, 95 Kvalholmen, 66 Kvalnes, 101 Laanan, 94 Lisøen, 85 Lunden, 82 Mindnes, 81 Myklebostad, 75 Myren, 85 Myren, 97 Nautøen, 60 Navarskaft, 80 Nordbostad, 85 Offersøen, 93 Olderøen, 92 Omnøen, 61 Opland, 77 Remman, 43 Roparnes, 86 Rosøen, 70 Rødøen, 87 Sandvær indre, 100 Sandvær søndr, 91 Skaalvær, 73 Skavolden, 85 Skjelosen, 98 Skogsholmen, 42 Skonseng, 88 Skotsvær, 85 Sundet, 44 Sørfjorden, 63 Sørnes, 96 Taavær, 69 Tangen, 84 Tjøtta med Svinnes, 79 Tro, 85 Trøen, 85 Tømmerviken, 62 Ukkelforen, 85 Vaagen, 58 Vestvaagan

Probate Records

1686-1878: Probates are found in Helgeland judicial district.

1728-1807: Clerical probates are found in Helgeland Deanery

Historical Society

Tjøtta Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names