Toft next Newton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Toft next Newton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Toft next Newton, Lincolnshire
Toft-next-Newton St Peter& St Paul Lincolnshire.jpg
Toft-next-Newton St Peter& St Paul Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walshcroft
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walshcroft
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

TOFT-NEXT-NEWTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish in the union of Caistor, N. division of the wapentake of Walshcroft with parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4½ miles (W.) from Market-Rasen. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Toft next Newton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438769.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 24 August 2013.