Tonstad, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Tonstad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
See Sirdal clerical district.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1664-1666: Bakke Clerical District original
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
An extract of the 1718 census for the parishes Bakke, Tonstad, and Gyland in Vest-Agder county.
The 1801 census for Bakke clerical district includes Bakke, Øvre Sirdal, and Tonstad parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1045 Bakke Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1046 Siredalen Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1910: Database
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
36 Bergeland 38 Bjunes 28 Bjørnestad 30 Espetveid 31 Fed 35 Finsnes 34 Finsnesheien 36 Fintland 32 Furestøl 40 Guddal 27 Hammersmark 39 Hompland 48 Josdal 33 Kulien 41 Kvernebæk 41 Liland 36 Moen 26 Mydland 51 Neset 49 Nygaard 29 Osen 42 Rosstøl 37 Rægevig 50 Seland 47 Sjørbu 52 Tonstad
Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library
Lister judicial district