Toombs County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Toombs County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Toombs County

Guide to Toombs County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Toombs County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Toombs County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded August 18, 1905
County Seat Lyons
Courthouse
Address Toombs County Courthouse]
100 Courthouse Square
Lyons, GA 30436
Phone: 912.526.3501 
Toombs County Website


County Information

Toombs County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Toombs County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1905
1905

1910
1905
1905


County Courthouse

Toombs County Courthouse
100 Courthouse Square
Lyons, GA 30436
Phone: 912.526.3501 

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records from 1905; Clerk superior Court has divorce, court, and land records from 1905[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
100 Courthouse Square
Lyons, GA 30436
Telephone: (912) 526-3501
Fax: (912) 526-8985

Probate Court of Toombs County
100 Courthouse Square
Lyons, GA 30436
Telephone: 912-526-8696
Fax: 912-526-1008

History

Parent County

1905--Toombs County was created 18 August 1905 from Emanuel, Tattnall and Montgomery Counties.
 County seat: Lyons [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1917 The courthouse was destroyed by fire; no county records were believed to have been lost or damaged.[3] [4] [5]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Appling County  • Candler County  • Emanuel County  • Jeff Davis County  • Montgomery County  • Tattnall County  • Treutlen County

Toombs CountyMontgomery CountyWheeler CountyJeff Davis CountyTelfair CountyDodge CountyEmanuel CountyLaurens CountyTreutlen CountyWilkinson CountyJohnson CountyJenkins CountyScreven CountyBulloch CountyCandler CountyTattnall CountyEvans CountyLiberty CountyLong CountyWayne CountyAppling CountyBacon CountyJeff Davis CountyCoffee CountyGAToombs.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

US Vol 5

  • page 151 - McCullough Cemetery
  • page 151 - Off in The Woods Cemetery
  • page 152 - Mount Zion Cemetery
  • page 152 - Mobley Family Cemetery
  • page 153 - Stanley Cemetery
  • page 153 - Reedy Creek Cemetery
  • page 154 - Vaughn Cemetery
  • page 154 - Moseley Family Cemetery
  • page 154 - Bazemore Cemetery


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Toombs County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gatoombs.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Toombs County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes


Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Toombs County Historical Society
1906 Woodland Ct
Vidalia, GA 30474-5522
Telephone Number: 912-537-3477



Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Toombs County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Lyons, GA Toombs County Courthouse Fire, Nov 1917 in GenDisasters (accessed 7 May 2014).
  4. Toombs County in GeorgiaInfo: an Online Georgia Almanac (accessed 7 May 2014).
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).