Torhamn parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Torhamn parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngBlekinge County Gotoarrow.pngTorhamn parish


Guide to Torhamn parish, Sweden Genealogy ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Torhamn
Jurisdictions
Stift Lund
Pastorat -1692 Torhamn
1693-1888 Torhamn and Sturkö
1888-1923 Torhamn, Sturkö and Tjurkö
1923- Torhamn
Län Blekinge
Landskap Blekinge
Härad Östra
Tingslag not applicable
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1720-1885 Östra and Medelstad hd
1886-1917 Östra hd
1918- Karlskrona
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt Blekinge län
Kommun 1863-1951 Torhamn
1952-1973 Jämjö
1974- Karlskrona
Militär indelning Blekinge Båtsmanskompanier
FamilySearch I.D. 6373000
NAD Ref Code SE/LLA/13409


Place Names

Attanäs,
Björkenäs, Bredäng, Brunsvik, Brunåkramåla, Bussevik,
Gisslevik, Grebbegården, Gullholma,
Hammar (Lilla), Hammar (Stora), Hästholmen,
Inlängan,
Konungshamn, Korpakärr, Krogen,
Lilla Hammar, Lilla Rom, Långanabben, Långöra, Lökaryd,
Maren, Mökleryd,
Orranäs,
Rom (Lilla), Rom (Stora),
Sandhamn, Sibbeboda, Steneryd, Stenshamn, Stora Hammar, Stora Rom, Svanhalla,
Torhamn, Truseryd,
Ungskär, Utklippan, Utlängan,
Ytterön, Yttre Sund,


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.


Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:


Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Blekinge Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Blekinge" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Societies and Libraries

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.

See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.

References

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, “Torhamn”, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). November 2011.

Torhamns församling husförhörslängd 1849-1856, Ortregister.