Torquay St John, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Torquay St John, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Torquay St John, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1862|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
TORQUAY, a chapelry, in the parish of Tor-MoHun, union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon, 7 miles (S. E. by S.) from Newton-Bushell, and 23 (S.) from Exeter. The chapel, dedicated to St. John, being found insufficient to accommodate the increasing population, and, from its confined situation, being incapable of enlargement, another chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was later erected; they are both handsome structures. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists and Wesleyans; and a national school.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Calvinistic Methodists
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Torquay (see Tormoham) on Genuki
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 377-380. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.