Torsång parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Torsång parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Torsång parish


Guide to Torsång parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

In about 1357 Stora Kopparberg was created from this parish. During medieval times the parish included areas by Kopparberget and the western part of Sundborn. The people from Torsång colonized Svärdsjö.


Torsång
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1746 Torsång, 1746-1879 Torsång and Aspeboda, 1880-1961 Torsång, 1962- Stora Tuna and Torsång
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1888 Torsång, 1889-1970 Falu domsagas södra
Domsaga 1687-1779 Östra, 1780-1798 Kopparbergslagen, 1799-1857 Kopparbergslagen and Näsgårds län, 1858- Falun
Fögderi 1720-1885 Kopparberg, 1886-1917 Falun, 1918-1946 Västerbergslag, 1946-1951 Falun, 1952- Borlänge
Länsmansdistrikt -1888 Vika, 1888-1917 Silvberg, Gustafs and Torsång
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Borlänge
Kommun 1863-1951 Torsång, 1952-1970 Stora Tuna, 1971- Borlänge
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Gustafs Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Överstelöjtnantens (Gustafs) kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 6373027
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11570


Place Names

Björknäs,
Comministergården,
Dalvik, Dalviksberg,
Hinsnoret,
Kyna, Kyrkoherdegården, Kårtylla, Kårtylla Öfra,
Liljesund, Lilla Ornäs, Lilla Ornäs ägor,
Milsbo,
Nordanö, Norsbo,
Olsbacka, Ornäs Lilla, Ornäs Mjölnaregård, Ornäs Sohlbergs Torp, Ornäs Stora, Ornäs ägor Lilla, Ornäs ägor Stora,
Pehrsbo,
Stora Ornäs, Stora Ornäs ägor, Storsten, Storsund, Sunnanö,
Tomnäs, Tronsjö, Tylla, Tyllsnäs,
Wiken,
Öfra Kårtylla, Öståker.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Torsång parish, Husförhörslängd 1834-1843, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Torsång Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/