Torslev (Øster Han herred) Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Torslev (Oster Han herred)

Guide to Torslev (Øster Han herred), Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Torslev (Øster Han herred) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Torslev-Øster Svenstrup Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aalborghuus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Øster Han
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 14
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 70
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Agdrup, Agedal, Agersborg, Aldershvile, Aldershøj, Aldersminde, Aldersro, Alsbjerg, Alsbjerg Bakker, Anholt, Attrup, Attrup Lo, Attrup Mark,

Bakkelund, Bakken, Benskov, Bilholm, Birkedal, Bjeldal, Bjergene, Bjerget, Brobakken, Brovst Løb, Burholt, Burholthus, Bybækken, Bærbak, Bødkergaardhus, Bøgelund, Bøjen,

Dal, Dalbo, Dalbæk, Dalsager, Dalvang, Davrehøj, Degnehus, Diget, Donskovhus,

Elbæk, Elkær, Elsig, Enehøje, Enggaard, Engheden, Enghøj,

Fjeldgaardsodde, Fladbirk, Flegum, Foldsted, Fredensholm, Fredenslund, Fruerlund, Fruerlunds Høj, Fælden,

Gammel Høngaard, Gane, Gane Høj, Gane Vestermark, Ganeskov, Gersholt Sø, Gilbakke, Godthaab, Granly, Graverhus, Grydbæk, Grydshøj, Grønsig, Guldager, Guldborg, Gulvad, Gydenslund,

Halden, Hammerholt, Haven, Haverslev, Hedebjerg, Hedegaard, Hedeled, Hedelund, Hegnhus, Hejselt, Hejselt Skov, Hjortholm, Hjortmose, Hokkerhøj, Holmen, Holsdam, Holtet, Hyllested, Høgholt, Højbakke, Højbjerg, Højene, Højgaard, Højholt, Højlund, Højmark, Højstrup Mose, Højstrupgaard, Højvang,

Kallehave, Kikkerhøj, Kilen, Kirkelund, Kirkholt, Knagholt, Kneer, Kobberholm, Kokkedal, Kokkedal Mark, Kokkedal Mølle, Kokkedals Kær, Koldbrobakken, Koldbromølle, Korsvang, Kragelund, Kringelsigholt, Krogens Mølle, Krogens Møllebæk, Krogsholt, Kæret, Kærgaard, Kærholt, Kærsholm,

Landlyst, Langholt, Langmose, Langodde, Laulund, Ledet, Lilkær, Lille Bjerget, Lille Fuglsang, Lille Hejselt, Lille Høngaard, Lille Mølbak, Lille Nedergaard, Lille Ris, Lille Skærp, Lille Skærphus, Lille Tamstrup, Lille Toften, Lille Toftenshus, Lille Tranholm, Lille Ørslev, Lindenborg, Lindholm, Lotteshøj, Lundbakken, Lundergaard, Lundholm, Lykkebo, Lykkenshede, Lykkensprøve, Lykkesholm, Løgtholt,

Melhaven, Mellem Vrængmose, Moselund, Mosen, Møllegaard,

Nordlund, Ny Skerne, Nyborg, Nygaard, Nyholm, Nyhaab, Nødbak, Nødbakhus, Nørgaard, Nørholt, Nørre Gydeje, Nørre Gyden, Nørre Høngaard, Nørre Rævbak, Nørre Tranders, Nørre Volsted, Nørre Vrængmose,

Odden, Ollerup, Ormholt, Ormholt Skov, Overgaards Mark, Overholm,

Pallisvad Aa, Pandbjerg,

Ramsholt, Ramsholtlund, Rattisodde Bæk, Ris, Risager, Rishøj, Rolykke, Rosenlund, Rosenvang, Rudbæksholt, Raaholt, Rækholt, Rævbakke, Rævholt,

Silkeborg, Skarpholt, Skavange, Skellet, Skinderbæk, Skjerne, Skovbak, Skovlund, Skovsgaard, Skovsgaard Stationsby, Skrummerdals Bakker, Smedegaard, Snedkerholt, Solbakken, Sortkær, Stasig, Stenbakken, Stenskrog Hammerværk, Stenskroghus, Stidsholt, Store Fjemb, Store Fuglsang, Store Hedelund, Store Nedergaard, Store Skoven, Store Tamstrup, Store Toften, Store Tyrrestrup, Svinshøj, Søndenaaen, Sønder Dal, Sønder Gydeje, Sønder Gyden, Sønder Hejseltslund, Sønder Toften, Sønder Volsted, Søndergaard, Sønderholt, Søndermark, Sønderskov,

Tamstrup Møllegaard, Theasminde, Thorndal, Tingbakke, Toftelund, Tohøj, Torslev, Torslev Dyb, Torslev Enge, Torslev Holme, Torslev Kær, Torslev Mark, Torsmark, Trehøj, Trekærhus, Trindbjerg, Trinkær, Tvistmose, Tyrrehøj, Tørholm,

Vandsted, Vandstedhus, Vang Hede, Vang Løgten Bæk, Vangen, Vangkær, Vangkær Grøft, Vangterp, Vedbæk, Vejen, Vejgaard, Vester Fjeldgaard, Vester GydejeVestergaard, Vester Horshave, Vester Mølbak, Vester Nordenbæk, Vesterskov, Vester Straden, Vester Søholt, Vester Vraagaard, Vester Vrængmose, Voers Aa, Volsted Bæk, Vrangbak, Vraa Skovhus, Vraagaard, Vrængmose, Væversted,

Øster Agdrup, Øster Horshave, Øster Høngaard, Øster Koldbro, Øster Mølbak, Øster Straden, Østergaard Høje,

Aaen, Aagaard, Aalborggaard, Aalund, Aarup, Aarup Hede, Aavang

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Aalborg amt: Farstrup, Sebber

Hjørring amt: Brovst, Haverslev, Skræm, Øland, Øster Svenstrup

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.