Tortuna Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tortuna parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Tortuna parish


Guide to Tortuna Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Tortuna Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1642 Tortuna and Sevalla, 1643-1921 Tortuna, 1922-1961 Tortuna and Sevalla, 1962- Hubbo, Tillberga, Tortuna and Sevalla
Län 1634-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Yttertjurbo
Tingslag -1893 Yttertjurbo härad, 1894-1928 Tuhundra, Siende and Yttertjurbo, 1929-1966 Siende and Norrbo, 1967-1970 Västerås (under rådhusrätten)
Domsaga -1864 Simtuna, Torstuna, Våla, Över- and Yttertjurbo, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands östra, 1865-1928 Västmanlands södra, 1929-1966 Västmanlands mellersta
Fögderi 1720-1881 Väsby, 1881- Västerås,
Länsmansdistrikt -1886 Yttertjurbo härad, 1886-1917 Västerås fögderis fjärde
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1951 Tortuna, 1952-1966 Tillberga, 1967-1970 Västerås stad, 1971- Västerås
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps: Östra Västmanlands Kompani
Vestmanlands Regemente:
Salbergs Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Östra Västmanlands kompani
Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Livkompaniet och Majorens (Väsby) kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 6373016
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11572


Place Names

Björkmossen, Bollsta, Bollsta ägor, Boseberga, Boseberga ägor,
Dräggesta, Dräggesta ägor, Dräggsta, Dräggsta ägor,
Ekeby, Ekeby ägor,
Fattighuset, Fors,
Gränvad Torp, Gökbo,
Häpplinge, Häpplinge ägor,
Klockargården, Kolsta, Kolsta ägor,
Lundby, Lundby ägor, Långbo Torp,
Munkbo, Munkbo, Munkbo ägor,
Nedersta, Nedersta ägor, Nicktuna, Nicktuna ägor, Norr Hälla, Norr Hälla ägor, Nortuna, Nortuna ägor, Nybo, Nyby, Nyby ägor,
Prästgården,
Råby Västra, Råby Östra,
Söder Hälla, Sörby, Sörby ägor,
Vändle, Vändle ägor, Väster Råby, Våster Råby ägor, Västra Råby, Västra Råby ägor,
Åby Väster, Åby Väster ägor,
Ängsta, Ängsta ägor,
Östaby, Östaby ägor, Öster Råby, Öster Råby ägor, Östra Råby, Östra Råby ägor, Öster Åby, Öster Åby ägor,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Tortuna, Husförhörslängd 1834-1849, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Tortuna Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/