Traill County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Traill County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Traill county was created in 1875. It was named after Walter John Strickland Traill, an employee of the Hudson's Bay Company and son of Canadian pioneer Catharine Parr Traill. Its county seat is Hillsboro.
Traill County Courthouse
114 W Caledonia
Hillsboro, ND 58045
Traill County Website
Clerk District Court has birth records from 1910, marriage records from 1887, death records from 1907, burial records from 1915, divorce records records from 1890 and probate records and probate records from 1882;
Register of Deeds has land records
Traill County, North Dakota Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|12 January 1875: Traill County was created from Grand Forks, Burbank (Old), and Cass Counties.|
County seat: Hillsboro 
The following are locations in the county
- Index to Traill County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Traill County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Project also has biographies. Use the search tool.
- North Dakota State University Biography Index
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- Index to Businesses of Traill County (Genealogy Trails)
- 1880, 1885 Mortality Schedule for Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- Traill County Census Information (USGenWeb Archives)
State Census Records
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry.com – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
- Index to Traill County Church Histories and Records (Genealogy Trails)
Aurdal Lutheran Church, Portland
- Records of Aurdal Lutheran Church, Portland, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of Blanchard Lutheran Church, Blanchard, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Bruflat Lutheran Church, Portland
- Records of Bruflat Lutheran Church, Portland, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Hatton
- Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Hatton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Zion Lutheran Church, Hillsboro
- Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Hillsboro, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- 1902 - Buxton Medical Directory, 1902 (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1902 - Clifford Medical Directory, 1902 (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1909 - Traill County Attorneys, 1909 (USGenWeb Archives)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861-1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
- 1870-1904 - Index to Traill County BLM Landowner Records by Surname (USGenWeb Archives)
For more information see North Dakota Land and Property
Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Traill County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.
- Hatton's heritage : a history of Hatton, North Dakota, 1884-1959. 1959. By Harvey Wambhein. S.l. : s.n. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Yesteryears in Traill : a history of Traill County, North Dakota. 1978. By American Revolution Bicentennial Publishing Committee (Traill County, North Dakota). Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Traill County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Archives lists a number of books with links to surname indexes. Scroll down on the page to "Histories - Books."
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
- 1861-1865 - Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.
- 1883 - Traill County ND 1883 Pensioners List (Genealogy Trails)
- 1890 - United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch.
World War I
- 1917-1918 - North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917-1918 - Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- World War I Casualties, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- World War II Army Casualties, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Casualties, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Army Enlistment Records, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- 1950-1957 - Korean War Casualties, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- 1957-1995 - Vietnam War Casualties, Traill County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
- Index to Traill County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Traill County Obituaries - Scroll down to "Obituaries." (USGenWeb Archives)
- Traill County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Project has obituaries. Use the search tool to find them.
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1911-1936 - Hatton High School Graduates (Genealogy Trails)
- 1910, 1913 - Mayville High School Graduates (Genealogy Trails)
- 1921-1927 - Portland High School Graduates (Genealogy Trails)
- Traill County, North Dakota, School Histories (Genealogy Trails)
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
- 1872-1899 - Traill County Marriage Index (USGenWeb Project)
- Traill County ND Newspaper Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Online Death Indexes and Records
North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Goose River Heritage Center, Inc.
320 1st Street NW
Mayville, ND 58257
Traill County Historical Society
PO Box 173
Hillsboro, ND 58045-0173
Hatton-Eielson Museum and Historical Association
PO Box 33
Hatton, ND 58240-0033
- Traill County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Traill County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Traill County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Traill County Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Genealogy Trails: Traill County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails: Traill County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History
- Traill County, North Dakota in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Traill County, North Dakota. Page 527 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Traill County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
- "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society.