Trefilan, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngTrefilan

A guide to genealogy in Trefilan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Trefilan is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.


TRÊVILAN (TRÊV-ILAR), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish is pleasantly situated in the Vale of Aëron and on the high road from Lampeter to Aberystwith. The surrounding country is boldly varied, and the scenery is in some parts picturesque. In the southern part of the parish is the small village of`Talsarn, deriving its name from a branch of a Roman road or causeway which terminated here, and which is situated on the bank of the river Aëron. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information see Trefilan at Genuki.


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of Wales,(1849), pp. 405-414. Adapted Date accessed: 22 January 2014.