Treuddyn, Flintshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Treuddyn, Flintshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngTreuddyn

A guide to genealogy in Treuddyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Treuddyn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

The redundant spelling of Tryddyn can be seen on some older documents.

History

"TRYDDIN (TREUDDYN), a parochial chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Mold, county of Flint, 5 miles (S.) from Mold, containing 829 inhabitants, the population having increased one-routh since the census of 1821. ... The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a neat small edifiece in good repair." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Treuddyn see: Genuki - Treuddyn

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites