Treville, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Treville, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Dore|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
TREVILLE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Dore, Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 6½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Ross. 
Treville is an extra parochial place in South Herefordshire neighbouring the parishes of Abbey Dore, Herefordshire Thruxton, Herefordshire Allensmore, Herefordshire Much Dewchurch, Herefordshire St Devereux, Herefordshire and Wormbridge, Herefordshire
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Treville for Land Tax records and census returns which have been microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 390-392. Accessed and adapted 8 May 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.