Trinidad and Tobago Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Trinidad and Tobago)
Jump to: navigation, search

North America Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Trinidad and Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago Wiki Topics
Flag of Trinidad and Tobago.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Trinidad and Tobago Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Trinidad and Tobago ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Trinidad and Tobago is an island nation between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, northeast of Venezuela. It was formerly a colony of Spain and Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Trinidad and Tobago Research

Links to articles on getting started with Trinidad and Tobago research.

Trinidad and Tobago Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Trinidad and Tobago research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Trinidad and Tobago Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Trinidad and Tobago. Regional corporations and municipalities of Trinidad and Tobago.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the [blank] level in Trinidad and Tobago. Click on a [blank] below to go to the [blank] Wiki article listing more information.

  • Subdivisions. Trinidad and Tobago are divided into 9 regional corporations, 2 city corporations, 3 borough corporations, 1 ward.
  • Regional Corporations:
    • Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo
    • Diego Martin
    • Mayaro/Rio Claro
    • Penal/Debe
    • Princes Town
    • Sangre Grande
    • San Juan/Laventille
    • Siparia
    • Tunapuna/Piarco
  • City Corporations:
    • Port-of-Spain
    • San Fernando
  • Borough Corporations:
    • Arima
    • Chaguanas
    • Point Fortin
  • Ward:
    • Tobago

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Trinidad and Tobago," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinidad_and_Tobago, accessed 20 April 2016.