Tromøy, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Tromøy, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Microfilm at the Family History Library for Tromøy prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Tromøy parish. Belonged to Holt clerical district until 1747 when Tromøy with Barbu and Austre Moland became Austre Moland clerical district. Tromøy was separated from Austre Moland in 1877. See Holt clerical district for earlier records. Parish registers from 1747-1925.
See also Austre Moland
Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet [Digital Archives] (See also Holt and Austre Moland)
See Holt 1664-66, 1701.
See Austre Moland 1801, 1865, 1875.
- 1900: Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900. The 1900 census for Tromøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Libray. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Available in a searchable database online atDigitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.
- 1910: Folketellingen for Norge den 1te desember 1910. The 1910 census for Tromøy is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
22 Aamdal, 19 Alve, 18 Bjelland, 6 Bratteklev, 16 Brekken, 15 Brunkevigen, 12 Buhaven, 15 Duevigen, 1 Dybedal, 21 Espestøl, 16 Flademoen, 14 Flangeborg, 6 Færvig vestre, 4 Gjerstad, 15 Gjervold, 8 Gjesøen, 24 Hasteinsund, 13 Hofstøl, 10 Hove, 17 Lien, 21 Lindebakken, 3 Lofstad, 23 Markevigen, 9 Merdø, 5 Pusnes, 21 Rydningen, 6 Rævesand, 4 Rørendal, 20 Sandaa ,21 Sandaagodda , 2 Sandnes, 11 Sandum nedre, 15 Simonstø, 21 Skare, 5 Skjelsøen, 7 Slaattøen, 17 Vaagsnes, 16 Ødegaarden
Aalholm, O. A.: Om Sørensens fra Brattekleiv, Gjervoll-og Songeætten (Tromøy- Arendal) 1440-1940