Troup County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Troup County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Troup County

Guide to Troup County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Troup County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Troup County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 11, 1907
County Seat LaGrange
Courthouse
Address Troup County Courthouse
118 Ridley Avenue; PO Box 1051
LaGrange, GA 30240
Phone: 706.883.1740 
Troup County Website


County Information

Troup County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Troup County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1828
1919
1830
1827
1827

County Courthouse

Troup County Courthouse
118 Ridley Avenue; PO Box 1051
LaGrange, GA 30240
Phone: 706.883.1740 

County Archives has marriage, burial, divorce, land, proabte and court records from 1827, military records 1890-1936 and naturalization records from 1843-1908; County Health Department has birth and death records from 1919[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 866
100 Ridley Avenue
LaGrange, GA 30241
Telephone: (706) 883-1740
Fax: (706) 883-1724

Probate Court of Troup County
100 Ridley Avenue
LaGrange, GA 30240
Telephone: 706-883-1690
Fax: 706-812-7933

History

Parent County

1826--Troup County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat:  LaGrange [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1936 The courthouse at LaGrange burned 5 November 1936. Some County Commission records in use that day were destroyed. All other county records survived unharmed in record vaults.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Chambers County, Alabama  • Coweta  • Harris  • Heard  • Meriwether  • Randolph County, Alabama

Troup CountyHeard CountyCarroll CountyCoweta CountyClayton CountyFayette CountyHenry CountyButts CountySpalding CountyLamar CountyPike CountyMeriwether CountyUpson CountyHarris CountyTalbot CountyCrawford CountyTaylor CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyLee CountyChambers CountyElmore CountyTallapoosa CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyCleburne CountyCalhoun CountyTalladega CountyGATroup.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Troup County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Smith, Clifford L. History of Troup County. Atlanta, Ga.: Printed by Foote & Davies Co., 1935. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Valley Historical Scrapbook. West Point, Ga.: The Society, 1970. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gatroup.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Troup County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Troup County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and D
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Companies B and K
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- Carlton's Company, Georgia Artillery (Troup County Artillery) (Confederate)
- Cherokee Legion, Georgia (State Guards) (Confederate)
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Wamick, Mona Allison. 1985. The Pearson-Johnson-Hammond letters, 1850-1936 and related family history. Decatur, Ga: M.A. Wamick. Fiches 6117506

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Troup County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1832-1848 - Wills 1832-1848 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1832-1848 - Wills 1832-1848 (digital images). See Names of Testators Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1848-1863 - Wills 1848-1863 (digital images).  See Names of Testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1836-1830 - Index to Troup County Divisions 1836-1839 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1861 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, Vol. U, 1861-62 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1862-1864 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 5, 1862-64 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1964-1867 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 6, 1864-71 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1866-1868 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 7, 1866-68 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1869-1871 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 8, 1869-71 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1871-1875 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 9, 1871-1875 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1875-1878 - Index to Troup County Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, No. 10, 1875-1878 Georgia Pioneers ($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Troup County Historical Society
PO Box 1051
LaGrange, GA 30241-0019
Telephone Number: 706-884-1828
Website

Chattahoochee Valley Historical Society
1213 Fifth Avenue
West Point, GA 31833
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Troup County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 54. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.