Trowbridge, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Trowbridge, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Trowbridge

Guide to Trowbridge, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Melksham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Melksham
Registration District Melksham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1588
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Salisbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

 TROWBRIDGE (St. James), a market-town and parish in the union and hundred of Melksham, Westbury and N. divisions, and Trowbridge and Bradford subdivisions, of Wiltshire, with Holy Trinity district church. Thirty miles (N. W.) from Salisbury, and 99 (W. by S.) from London; and includes the chapelry of Staverton. In the town are places of worship for Particular Baptists, General Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and Irvingites.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Trowbridge St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Trowbridge St James Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1538-1913
1538-1836, 1899-1906

IGI 1538-1935 1563-1895
NIM 1538-1840
1539-1837

Trowbridge St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Trowbridge St Thomas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1870-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464200.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.