Trusley, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Trusley, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Trusley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trusley, Derbyshire
Trusley All+Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Trusley All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Radbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

TRUSLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (W.) from Derby.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Trusley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Trusley All Saints (1538) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1964 has deposited registers Bap 1538-1912 Mar 1538-1835 Burials 1538-1812 Banns 1830-1834, 1862-1868, 1888-1938

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1665-1868 Mar 1665-1882 Burials 1665-1868

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Trudley on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 395-398. DAte accessed: 25 June 2103.