Tucson Arizona West Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Tucson Arizona West Family History Center is located at the Tucson West Stake Center. It serves northwestern Tucson, Oro Valley, Marana, and Picture Rocks. It includes a collection of about 5000 books useful for genealogy research in the United States and Europe, as well as a variety of journals from genealogical societies. Note that there is no charge for using any of the available resources.

Arizonatucsonwestfhc.JPG

Center Contacts and Hours

Location & Map:

  • 3530 W Magee, Tucson, AZ 85741 USA
  • From Ina Road go north on Thornydale about one mile to Magee Road. Turn east on Magee, continue one quarter mile to the church building on the left.
  • Take the second entrance on the east side of the building.
  • The Family Search Center is entered through the small door just to the left of the main east entrance of the building.
  • Location Map

Phone: 520-579-3493

E-mail: az_tucsonwest@ldsmail.net

Center Hours:

  • Tuesday: 9AM to 5PM
  • Wednesday: 9AM to 5PM
  • Thursday: 4PM to 8PM
  • Saturday: 9AM to 1PM

Holiday Schedule:

  • Closed Saturday, 1 April 2017
  • Closed Tuesday, 4 July 2017
  • Closed Saturday, 1 October 2017
  • Closed for Thanksgiving, Thursday, 23 November 2017
  • Closed for Christmas, dates to be determined

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

Center Resources

Collections

Arizonatucsonwestfhcinside.JPG

  • FamilySearch Catalog. Access to the microfilm holdings of the Family History Library in Salt Lake . Internet access is available at the library.
  • We have extensive hard bound collections for North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia as well as a few New England collections.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal: This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. The resources currently include:
  1. 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive – Searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings with a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century (from 1800 to 1900)
  2. Access Newspaper Archives – Searchable newspaper archive, featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world
  3. Alexander Street Press - Focused on records from the American Civil War. Searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs. Includes images, photographs, posters, and ephemera
  4. Ancestry.com – Searchable collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership
  5. ArkivDigital Online – Images of Swedish Church Records and other historical records. Indexed by locality
  6. Find My Past – Searchable collections of records from the United Kingdom and Ireland, including the 1911 Brish Census. (Not all of the content from Find My Past is available in family history centers)
  7. Fold3 – Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos, focused on military records and stories
  8. Heritage Quest Online – Heritage Quest Online database is a collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. U.S. federal census images from 1790, books, periodicals, Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files, Freedman’s Bank records
  9. Historic Map Works Library Edition - Digital map collections available, with high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps
  10. Legacy Stories - Resource for storing and publishing on-line family history information in text, audio, and multi-media formats
  11. Paper Trail – Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents
  12. World Vital Records – Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections

Hardware and Equipment

  • Eleven computers with internet access, each with dual monitors
  • One microfilm scanner - bring an USB flash drive to store your digitized documents
  • Four microfilm readers
  • Two scanners for digitizing photographs, slides, negatives, and documents - bring an USB flash drive to store your digitized documents
  • Wireless access available upon request.


Center Services

Individual Consulting

  • Center staff are available for personal consulting with no appointment needed

Staff Research Specialties

US Industrial and Agricultural Census Schedules, available on Wednesday and Saturdays

Links

(Watch this space for exciting new information. <Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.>