Tunstall, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tunstall, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes S-Y
East Riding of Yorkshire
Tunstall

Guide to Tunstall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunstall, Yorkshire
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; East Hang; West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Bedale; Northallerton; Richmond
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Succentor Canonicorum of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

TUNSTALL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Patrington, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 5½ miles (N.) from Patrington. This place is of considerable antiquity, a church existing here in 1115, when Stephen, Earl of Albemarle, gave the church and tithes of Tunstall to the abbey of St. Martin.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Tunstall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
TUNSTALL PARISH (1567) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1724-1856

1725-1840

None

JOIN None
None
None
AC None
None
None









Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Patrington Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Tunstall Parish comes under the probate court jurisdiction of Court of the Peculiar of the Succentor Canonicorum of York. These probate records are available at The Borthwick Institute for Archives. Here is their contact information:

Email: borthwick-institute@york.ac.uk

Postal address:

Borthwick Institute for Archives University of York Heslington York YO10 5DD UK Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name[s] of additional court jurisdictions for the parish of Tunstall. The above court holds primary jurisdiction and should be searched, first. Scroll down in the article on "Yorkshire Probate Records" to the section "Court Jurisdictions by Parish" for the other courts.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 398-401. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.