Tunworth, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tunworth, Hampshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Tunworth

Guide to Tunworth, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunworth, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Basingstoke
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Basingstoke
Registration District Basingstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1749
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History

TUNWORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Basingstoke, Basingstoke and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3 miles (S. E.) from Basingstoke. [1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tunworth, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
FS 1749-1878

PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288792.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 401-404. Date accessed 03 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.