Tuolumne County, California Genealogy
|Tuolumne County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| Tuolumne County Courthouse|
2 S Green Street
Sonora, CA 95370-4679
Tuolumne County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Bible Records
- 7 Biography
- 8 Cemeteries
- 9 Census
- 10 Church History and Records
- 11 Court Records
- 12 Crime and Criminals
- 13 Directories
- 14 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 15 Gazetteers
- 16 Genealogy
- 17 History
- 18 Land and Property
- 19 Maps
- 20 Migration
- 21 Military History and Records
- 22 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 23 Newspapers
- 24 Obituaries
- 25 Periodicals
- 26 Probate Records
- 27 Repositories
- 28 Societies
- 29 Taxation
- 30 Vital Records
- 31 Voting Registers
- 32 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 33 Web Sites
- 34 References
Tuolumne County, California Record Dates
County Clerk Recorder has birth records from 1858
marriage records from 1850, death records from 1859
burial records from 1916 divorce, probate, court and land from 1850 and
old newspapers 1862-1948
18 February 1850: Tuolumne County was created as an original county. County seat: Sonora 
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See California Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Tuolumne County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Tuolumne County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Big Tree Road (Ebbetts Pass) 1851 from western Nevada to Markleeville, Murphys, Sonora, and Stockton, California
- Sonora Road 1852-1854 from the Carson Trail south to the Walker River along the base of the Sierra Nevada until it ascends to Sonora Pass and then down to Strawberry and Sonora, California
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tuolumne County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Tuolumne - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
The official records of Tuolumne County, one of California's 27 original counties, are located in the Carlo M. De Ferrari Archive. The building was designed in 1997 by Cooper Kessel, an East Sonora architect and built by Barham Industrial Constructors, Inc. in 1999. It was dedicated for public use on December 21, 1999, and officially opened on June 8, 2001
Address: 490 Greenley Rd., Sonora, Ca 95370
Phone: 209 536-1163
Hours: By appointment, Monday through Friday
The archive was named in honor of Carlo M. De Ferrari, a third generation Tuolumne County native son and "Official Historian of Tuolumne County," a title bestowed in 1972 by the Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors in reocognition of his extensive knowledge of local history and his dedication to its preservation.
The county archivist oversees general administration of the archive. All records accepted for preservation in the archive must have a historical connection to official county governmental business.
Over 250,000 records from this collection have been entered into the Archive's database for the public to access and query. The public can access the collection via the Tuolumne County's website at the following portal.
Carlo M. De Ferrari Archive (Tuolumne County Archive)
To begin searching the archives, click the Archive Index button.
The User Id for the public is Research; no Password is needed.
Click the Enter button, then click Archives from the drop down list.
The current listing of books is available via the internet on the Tuolumne County Library web page. The books are available for researchers at the archive as reference material.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Groveland California Family History Center
- Sonora California Family History Center
The Tuolumne County Historical Society, established in 1956, is home to the Tuolumne County Museum, Tuolumne County Historical Society and the Tuolumne County Genealogical Society.
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Tuolumne County Genealogical Society
158 West Bradford
Street, Sonora, CA 95370
Tuolumne County Historical Society
P.O. Box 695
- Tuolumne County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Tuolumne County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tuolumne County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).