Turners Puddle, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Turners Puddle, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Turners Puddle

Guide to Turners Puddle, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Turners Puddle, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hundredsbarrow
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck
Registration District Wareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

TURNERS-PUDDLE, a parish in Wareham district, Dorset; 4¾ miles NNW of Wool railway station, and 7¼ NW by W of Wareham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Turners Puddle, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1579
1640
1640
Images
1640-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1969 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1579-1880 Ancestry[6] 1640-1837 Joiner[7]
1745-1837 findmypast[8]

Turners Puddle, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
Turners Puddle, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1640-1880
1640-1880
1640-1880

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012. Bishop's transcripts.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.