Tuscany, Italy Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tuscany)
Jump to: navigation, search
Italy Research Topics
Roman Forum
Beginning Research
Record Types
Italy Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Italy
Tuscany Region
IT Locator Map Italy Tuscany.png

Guide to Tuscany region ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

In the 16th century, the Medicis, rulers of Florence, annexed the Republic of Siena, creating the Grand Duchy of Tuscany. The Medici family became extinct in 1737 with the death of Gian Gastone, and Tuscany was transferred to Francis, Duke of Lorraine and husband of Austrian Empress Maria Theresa, who let rule the country by his son. The dynasty of the Lorena ruled Tuscany until 1860, with the exception of the Napoleonic period, when most of the country was annexed to the French Empire. After the Second Italian War of Independence, a revolution evicted the last Grand Duke, and after a plebiscite Tuscany became part of the new Kingdom of Italy. From 1864 to 1870 Florence became the second capital of the kingdom.

Jurisdictions

Toscana Provinces.JPG

Learn more about Tuscany jurisdictions. Learn more about Tuscany History

Research Tools

  • A helpful Geographic Dictionary can be found at this link. (in Italian)
  • Tuscany: Church Parish Records: This is an index of over 5,000 parish registers from Tuscany, Italy, containing baptism, marriage, and burial records. For some, it gives date ranges and names, and for others it shows types of record available in which date ranges, and a link to where they are physically located with an address to contact the diocese. (in Italian)