Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tuvalu (Gilbert Islands))
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Tuvalu (Ellice Islands)

Tuvalu Wiki Topics
Flag of Tuvalu.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Tuvalu Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Tuvalu, formerly known as the Ellice Islands, is an island nation consisting of a group of nine small atolls in the western Pacific Ocean. The main island lies north of Fiji. Tuvalu is the world’s second smallest country. The languages spoken are Tuvaluan and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) Research

Links to articles on getting started with Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) research.

Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Tuvalu (Ellice Islands) Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the state level in Tuvalu (Ellice Islands). Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.

Tuvalu-.png

Islands

  • Nanumea
  • Nanumanga
  • Niutao
  • Nui
  • Vaitupu
  • Nukufetau
  • Funafuti
  • Nukulaelae
  • Niulakita

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tuvalu," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuvalu, accessed 20 April 2016.