Tweedmouth, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tweedmouth, Northumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Tweedmouth, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tweedmouth, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Islandshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Berwick
Registration District Berwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711; Separate registers exist for Scremerston beginning 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1764
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Parish History

TWEEDMOUTH (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Berwick-upon-Tweed, Islandshire, N. division of Northumberland; adjoining Berwick with the townships of Ord and Spittle. A part of the parish is included within the boundaries of Berwick. The church, formerly a chapel of ease to Holy Island, was rebuilt in 1783. There are two places of worship for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Tweedmouth St.Bartholomew was created as a parish in Northumberland in 1737 a former chapelry in the ancient parish of Holy Island.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Tweedmouth, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free[2]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Tweedmouth, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1711-1865 1711-1775 1711-1868

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/254  1764-1885 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The Registry entry refers to "North Durham" the former description of Northumberland parishes in the diocese. North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900 Engineering work will be undertaken in future to improve access to the Parish Register transcripts.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Tweedmouth, St Bartholomew: Records of baptisms 1711-1907, marriages 1711-1952 and burials 1711-1911 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms and marriages 1711-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1711-1812 and banns 1776-1812. Transcripts of baptisms and marriages 1711-1812, burials 1711-1762, 1764-1812 and marriages (Scotch) 1785-1816 for Tweedmouth are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. Tweedmouth Parish Church Monumental Inscriptions have been published on microfiche by Berwick Record Office. (Indexed).

Spittle, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Spittle, Northumberland Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs

1873-1949

Scremerston, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Scremerston, Northumberland Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs

1843-1959

Church Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 231358.


Poor Law Unions

Berwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.