Twyford and Stenson, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Twyford and Stenson, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Twyford and Stenson, Derbyshire
St Andrews Church Twyford Derbyshire.JPG
St Andrews Church Twyford Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838; For more records see Barrow
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Twyford was a chapelry in Barrow on Trent parish and included Stenson hamlet. The chapel is dedicated to St. Andrew.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Shardlow district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Twyford and Stenston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Twyford and Stenson St Andrew (1838) Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Twyford St Andrew was originally a chaplry in the Parish of Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire which became  an ecclesiastical parish. Marriage registers began in 1837 and Baptism and burials in 1847. It is therefore advisable to consult Barrow on Trent, Derbyshire registers for these periods

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3371 has deposited registers Bap 1847-2000 Mar 1838-1950, 1954-1993 Burials 1847-2001 Banns 1852-2000

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1848-1869 Mar none Burials 1848-1869

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Twyford and Stenson on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.