Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Wisbech
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wisbech
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

TYDD (St. Giles), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Wisbech. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1861 1599-1839
1599-1861

An indexed transcription of the parish registers of Tydd St. Giles : baptisms, 1599-1950; marriages, 1559-1950; burials, 1599-1941; banns, 1754-1950 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Tydd-St. Giles, 1599-1861 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches

General Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241227.


Poor Law Unions

Wisbech Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tydd St. Giles on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 407-411. Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.