Ukraine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ukraine)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Ukraine

Ukraine Wiki Topics
Ukraine Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ukraine Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Guide to Ukraine ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Ukraine is a country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia, Belarus, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, and Moldova. Ukrainian and Russian are the official languages.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Ukraine Research

Links to articles on getting started with Ukraine research.

Ukraine Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Ukraine research.



{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Ukraine Map



Ukraine Jurisdiction.jpg

Jurisdictions

Ukraine has 24 provinces (oblasti, singular - oblast'), 1 autonomous republic* (avtonomna respublika), and 2 municipalities (mista, singular - misto) with oblast status**

Because most of Ukraine's population speak Russian and Ukrainian, there are two different ways of spelling names of cities, historical cites, last and first names and many other words in English. One will be based on Russian and another - based on Ukrainian. Below is a table that will help you identify the right spelling of cities.

Ukraine locations spellings
English (Ukrainian) Ukrainian English (Russian) Russian
Cherkasy Черкаси Cherkasy Черкасы
Chernihiv Чернігів Chernigov Чернигов
Chernivtsi Чернівці Chernovtsy Черновцы
Crimea or Avtonomna Respublika Крим або Автономна Республіка Crimea or Avtonomnaya Respublika Крым или Автономная Республика
Krym (Simferopol') Крим (Сімферополь) Krym (Simferopol) Крым (Симферополь)
Dnipropetrovs'k Дніпропетровськ Dnepropetrovsk Днепропетровск
Donets'k Донецьк Donetsk Донецк
Ivano-Frankivs'k Івано-Франківськ Ivano-Frankovsk Ивано-Франковск
Kharkiv Харків Kharkov Харьков
Kherson Херсон Kherson Херсон
Khmel'nyts'kyy Хмельницький Khmelnitsky Хмельницкий
Kirovohrad Кіровоград Kirovograd Кировоград
Kyiv Київ Kiev Киев
Luhans'k Луганськ Lugansk Луганск
L'viv Львів Lvov Львов
Mykolayiv Миколаїв Nikolaev Николаев
Odesa Одеса Odessa Одесса
Poltava Полтава Poltava Полтава
Rivne Рівне Rovno Ровно
Sevastopol Севастополь Sevastopol Севастополь
Sumy Суми Sumy Сумы
Ternopil' Тернопіль Ternopol Тернополь
Vinnytsya Вінниця Vinnitsya Винница
Volyn' (Luts'k) Волинь Volyn' (Lutsk) Волынь
Zakarpattya (Uzhhorod) Закарпаття (Ужгород) Zakarpatskaya (Uzhgorod) Закарпатская (Ужгород)
Zaporizhzhya Запоріжжя Zaporozhye Запорожье
Zhytomyr Житомир Zhytomir Житомир

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Ukraine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ukraine, accessed 23 March 2016.